The Beautiful Mama Blog Award

Gifted by the lovely Valerie at Atlanta Mom of Three

Gifted by the lovely Valerie at Atlanta Mom of Three

I have been nominated for the Beautiful Mama Blog Award by my new friend, Valerie from alantamomofthree.wordpress.com/. Here is a little about how we came to know each other.

When I began this blog just one short week ago, I was having a bad day. It had rained incessantly, my 15 month old daughter was going stir crazy, my partner was at work despite it being Sunday, and I needed a break – badly. So, I sat Little Chop down in front of her favourite DVD with a snack and crept away to the dining table to escape for a little while. A cup of decaf and a Tim Tam later, melbournemummy was born.

I didn’t think anyone would be able to find my blog in the great vastness of the world wide web, let alone comment or subscribe but the next morning I was delighted to find that someone had found my blog through our mutual love ofย Downton Abbeyย – and commented – and subscribed! It was Valerie, and her comments made my day.

I have been blown away by the friendliness and camaraderie amongst fellow mummy bloggers and I am so glad to have found this wonderful, supportive community.

So, in the spirit of the Beautiful Mama Award, here are three things I love about motherhood:

1. My daughter lets me see the world through her eyes. Everyday things that had long lost their wonder are new again – especially things in nature like animals, shadows, flowers.

2. My daughter needs me and that makes me feel good. Being needed by someone you love who loves you equally in return in extremely rewarding and makes you feel like you have value as an individual. Which leads me to my next point…

3. My daughter gives me reason for being. Before I had her, I wasn’t sure of my place in the world, but as soon as she came into my life, I knew that if nothing else, I am here for her – to love her, comfort her, teach her and protect her – until my days are over.

And now I’m blubbering…

I’m still new to the blogging world, so I will be passing this award on to other Beautiful Mamas once I’ve had a chance to get to know some of you a little better.

4 thoughts on “The Beautiful Mama Blog Award

  1. Aww, such sweet things to love about motherhood!! I am so glad to have met you. ๐Ÿ˜€ Have you figured out how to use your Reader yet? When you’re logged in, look in the top left corner of your screen and you’ll see the WorPress logo (the W)…scroll down two and you’ll see Reader. You can type in ANY topic and posts that were tagged with that word will show up. I love searching “toddler”, “downton abbey”, “breastfeeding”, etc!

  2. Pingback: The Beautiful Mama Blog award nominees | melbournemummy

Leave a Reply

