It’s Friday…

Friday

Today is Friday.

Sixteen months ago I would have been counting down the hours until the end of my work week…

…but I’m a mum now.

As a stay at home, co-sleeping mum, I’m lucky to get an hour or two off each week. This loss of downtime and essentially ME time, is something I’ve thought about a lot since becoming a mum – and resented at times.

I know other mums who’ve struggled with it too, so why is the twenty-four-hourness of being a mum something that we don’t really talk about? We discuss breastfeeding, sleep deprivation, relationships and post-baby body woes at length, but rarely are we prepared to acknowledge that we’d like some time off.

Perhaps we fear judgement, because after all, isn’t being a mum the most joyful and rewarding career possible? Well…YES, being a mum IS amazing and arguably the best job in the world, BUT, and this is a big but, it is not the totality of my identity, nor that of any other mum.

Tomorrow I’d like to read a book, nap, see a movie, visit a gallery, go shopping, get a wax, have my hair done – but I can’t.

Today is Friday and I have to work tomorrow.

 

To be continued…

5 thoughts on “It’s Friday…

    • Oops, meant to say I often feel like it but I don’t often get relief. 😉 I try to remember that this won’t last forever and I will MISS all the work and play once they’re grown. Still hard to do 24/7 though!!

      • Thanks Valerie, I know a lot of mothers feel the same way but often we feel guilty asking for a break. My husband is great & will get up with Little Chop occasionally so that I can go back to sleep for an extra hour – but he often works weekends and I know he needs downtime too. It’s hard to find that balance!

      • Sleep – that’s one area my husband has never helped with or been able to because of his work. I could’ve definitely used a helping hand for the first few months but most nights he wasn’t even home because he worked night shift! 😦 So, so tiring to get up in the middle of the night!!!!!

Leave a Reply

