Mum’s treat – moist butterscotch pudding for one

I can’t get enough of these microwave mug cakes at the moment, which isn’t ideal because my plan to walk everyday went out the window last week when I pinched a nerve Β in my back, but on these cold Winter evenings nothing is more comforting than curling up on the couch with a warm cup of cake!

Here is my latest offering – a deliciously moist and caramely butterscotch pudding that’s ready in under five minutes.

You’ll need:

1 large mug

1 1/2 tbs milk

2 tsp butter

2 tbs brown sugar

1 tsp honey

3 tbs self-raising flour

1/4 tsp cinnamon

2 1/2 tbs hot water

Microwave milk and butter in mug for about 30 seconds or until butter is mostly melted. Add half the brown sugar and microwave again for about 15 seconds then stir until the sugar has dissolved. Mix in the honey and self raising flour until the batter is smooth. Sprinkle the remaining brown sugar and cinnamon over the batter then gently pour the hot water on top.

Microwave on high for 60-75 seconds until spongey on top and saucy underneath, then stand for 1-2 minutes.

Serve with a dollop of cream or ice-cream.

You can thank me later.

13 thoughts on “Mum’s treat – moist butterscotch pudding for one

  1. That sounds lovely but Ohhhh, I have got to stop eating so many desserts!!! πŸ˜› Especially since it’s getting hotter here and we’re removing layers of clothing for the season! πŸ˜‰

    • You could probably make it in a ramekin in the oven but I haven’t made it that way myself. I’d guess that 10-12 minutes at around 180C (355F) would do the trick. I’d check it at intervals and take it out when the top looks spongey. Let me know how you go!

  2. This was sooo good! Thanks for that recipe. Exactly what I needed on a cold night and craving some dessert. Thank you again πŸ™‚

  3. Mine was a lot saucier than expected but i guess that what happens when you accedently add 2tbs instead of 2 tsp of butter oops lol tastes so yummy though

  4. Made this but the texture was nothing like pudding. It was all set up. Tasted fine albeit a little too sweet but splattered my microwave and left a huge cleanup 😦 Wonder what I did wrong…

    • Hi Tia, where are you from? In Australia a pudding is usually a moist type of cake with sauce that you bake in the oven. If you found it too sweet you might prefer the chocolate mug cake next time. Make sure you use a large mug, and if your microwave is powerful reduce the cooking time or monitor closely to avoid splatters.

Leave a Reply

